Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBR List

fall book preview 2013

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Fall TBR Lists. I did a ton of reading in August to gear up for all the great September books being released as we speak, but the Fall book frenzy feels never ending. October and November are loaded with great releases, so my TBR pile is actually much higher than ten…but these are those I’m looking forward to most.

1. The Paris Architect by Charles Belfoure – October 8th
A gifted architect reluctantly begins a secret life devising ingenious hiding places for Jews in Nazi-occupied Paris.

2. The Tilted World by Tom Franklin and Beth Ann Fennelly – October 1st
Set against the backdrop of the historic 1927 Mississippi Flood, a story of murder and moonshine, sandbagging and saboteurs, dynamite and deluge – and a man and a woman who find unexpected love.

3. The Lion Seeker by Kenneth Bonert – October 15th 
In the tradition of the great immigrant sagas, The Lion Seeker brings us Isaac Helger, son of Lithuanian Jewish immigrants, surviving the streets of Johannesburg in the shadow of World War II.

4. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton – October 15th
From the acclaimed author of The Rehearsal comes a novel about a young woman on trial for murder in nineteenth-century New Zealand.

5. Quiet Dell by Jayne Ann-Philipps – October 15th
From one of America’s most accomplished and acclaimed fiction writers, a chilling, spectacularly riveting novel based on a real life multiple murder by a con man who preyed on widows—a story that has haunted Jayne Anne Phillips for more than four decades.

6. The Cartographer of No Man’s Land by P.S. Duffy – October 28th
From a hardscrabble village in Nova Scotia to the collapsing trenches of France, a debut novel about a family divided by World War I. 

7. Havisham by Ronald Frame – November 5th
In the  tradition of Wide Sargasso Sea, Havisham is the astonishing prelude to Charles Dickens’s classic Great Expectations.

8. Red Sky in Morning by Paul Lynch – November 5th
A tense, thrilling debut novel that spans two continents, from “a writer to watch out for.” (Colum McCann)

9. Want Not by Jonathan Miles – November 5th
From the critically acclaimed author of Dear American Airlines, a compulsively readable, deeply human novel that charts the course of three intersecting lives in a thoroughly contemporary examination of that most basic and unquenchable emotion: want.

10. Country Hardball by Steve Weddle – November 18th
A novel-in-stories in the tradition of Bonnie Jo Campbell, Donald Ray Pollock, Denis Johnson, and Alan Heathcock, Country Hardball is a powerfully observed and devastatingly understated portrait of the American working class.